Stalkers beware: Instagram tests screenshot alert feature for Stories
All ye stalkers beware, online photo-sharing app Instagram is testing a new feature that will alert users when somebody takes a screenshot of their 'Stories'. The feature was earlier implemented on private direct messages, and the Facebook-owned app is now testing the alert with a select group of users. The test group received a pop up with a warning which stated 'Next time you take a screenshot or screen recording, the person who posted the story will be able to see.'
Here's how to check if someone screenshot your Instagram Story: After uploading a picture or a video as a story, swipe up on the screen to bring up the list of followers who have viewed your story. A camera shutter logo will appear next to anyone who took a screenshot of their photo. Unlike the notification received when someone screenshots a private DM, users will only be able to see those who've screenshot their stories under the list of story viewers. The feature is currently in testing mode and is not yet released to the general public.
Instagram recently launched Type Mode and Carousel Ads for Stories. With Type Mode, users can now share text with different styles and backgrounds. After opening the camera, users will see Type next to Normal under the record button. Users can pick different background colours, highlight words and phrases or add a background photo. Users can also use new styles when adding text to any photo or video. Similar to everything else shared to Stories, it will disappear after 24 hours.